We’ve all been there. After posting a video to TikTok you realize you need to change the video or add something to the description. Unfortunately, there is no “Edit” button. Once you’ve posted your TikTok, swiftly deleting and re-uploading is the only way to change your captions. But don’t worry; you don’t have to lose all your effects and editing progress. Here’s how to edit a TikTok description and more after posting.

Read more: How to delete videos on TikTok

QUICK ANSWER

To edit a TikTok description after posting, save the video to your device, then delete the video. After that, upload your video as a new TikTok and make any necessary changes to the captions before you post.

How to edit a TikTok after posting

If you’re reading this, you’ve likely already looked for an Edit button to no avail. Unfortunately, once you’ve posted a TikTok, any changes are final. However, there is a workaround for you to edit a TikTok description or any other effects after posting.

Firstly, select the video you want to edit from your Profile page.

profile videos TikTok

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Tap on the three-dot icon in the bottom right.

video options TikTok

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Then select Save video from the bottom options.

Save video TikTok

Adam Birney / Android Authority

This will bring up a variety of Share options. Save the video to your device’s storage or another storage application such as Google Drive. You can also send the video to yourself to easily retrieve it, although it will be gone from TikTok once deleted.

Share to TikTok

Adam Birney / Android Authority

After saving your TikTok video somewhere else, go back to the menu options and select Delete.

delete TikTok

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Your video will then be removed from TikTok along with any likes and comments it has accumulated.

Next, tap the Post button at the center of the screen and upload the TikTok video you just saved to your device or an external drive.

post TikTok

Adam Birney / Android Authority

See our tutorial for a step-by-step guide on uploading videos to TikTok. You can then make any necessary edits to the effects and the video’s description during the final stages before posting it again.


Read more: How to change your name on TikTok

FAQs

Can you edit a TikTok after posting?

No, but you can save the TikTok video to your device, delete it, then quickly re-upload it to make any changes without losing your edits.

Can you edit the TikTok caption after posting?

No, but you can download the TikTok video, delete it, then quickly re-post it to make any changes to the captions.



Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here